Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some urban areas, there is a rule called vehicle-free days which forbids citizens using their private transportations. This means that they are encouraged to switch to another modes of transport which is public ones. In my point of view, this policy would bring more benefits than downsides which I will examine in the following paper.

The first and foremost upside of implementing this event is partially contributing to the environmental protection. To clarify, trucks and motorcycles release a handsome amount of carbon dioxide which directly places heavy and deleterious effects on the atmosphere and causes global warming. Therefore, the temporary replacement of public transportation would likely to freshen the atmosphere leading to a reduction of air pollution. The second advantage of banning private vehicles is to facilitate the traffic flow. To be particular, when a large number of personal transportations moving in a gridlock, the severity of traffic snarl seems to be worsened. Hence, opting to use buses or taxis would result in a decrease of vehicle quantities operating on the roads and smoothen to transportation system.

Despite the aforementioned advantageous aspects, some noteworthy weaknesses of vehicle-free days can be examined. The first drawback is the delay arrival. This is because in some locations of a city, the public transportation system might be unable to provide a sufficient amount of support to satisfy the demands of traveling of residents there. Provided people commute to work but are forced to use buses or taxis, this can be a hindrance affecting their punctuality which is a minus point in their work efficiency. Another negativity of this trend is to place financial burdens on low-income earners. For example, the bus tickets or taxi fees in some developed areas are too pricey to be affordable for the disadvantaged. As a result, if these individuals are made to strictly follow this event, they may find it hard to comply as being unable to pay for such fees.

Taking everything into consideration, the act of enacting vehicle-free days can be regarded as beneficial for citizens because of contributing to preserve the environment along with improving the traffic congestions. However, there are some limitations that need to be considered which are the negative impacts on punctuality of workers as well as its insolvency.