Some cities have vehicle-free days, when private cars, trucks, motorcycles are banned in the city centre. Public transportations like buses, taxis, and metros are advised. To what extent do you think the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

It is true that some cities have a law about banning private vehicles such as cars, trucks, motorcycles in some certain days, and suggest using public transportations like buses, taxis and metros instead. Personally, I believe this strategy has greater advantages than disadvantages .

On the one hand, I believe that this idea has a number of disadvantages. Firstly, using private transportations is less convenient compared to private vehicles. While personal vehicle allow people to go wherever and whenever they want , public transportations is limited with the schedule which means you might have to wait for long time to the next bus and train to come and people get off at the stops. Secondly, using public transportations might cause difficulty for delivery in the city. This might lead to the increase in the cost of delivery in the city centre.

On the other hand, this strategy has a lot of advantages. Firstly, it reduces some types of pollution. Since private vehicles are the main source of pollution such as carbon dioxide or annoying noise which does a huge damage to people’s health , using public transport enhances people’s health and prevent people from childhood asthma and early deaths by reducing the exposure of people to traffic. Secondly , it will solve the traffic congestion during a rush hour . For instance, because it is limited the number of vehicles, there will be more space to moving in the city. In addition, it also reduces the number of traffic accident.

To sum up, although the probhibition of private vehicles might has some drawbacks , I still believe that it is neccessary to promote a sequence of vehicle days and events to increase the appeal and awareness of its benefit.