Some countries achieve international success by building specialised facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in order to attain international success, some nations have decided to erect specialised infrastructures for the purpose of training athletes those who have sports aptitudes. Although it is better and essential for the authorities to implement this policy, I would hold that this tendency may be flood with a lot of pitfalls.

On the one hand, there are some factors prevailing me on believing that this trend could be favorable in some facets. Firstly, if high-level athletes are provided enough sports equipments, they can promote their abilities. In Vietnam, for instance, the government have built a great number of specialised stadiums to create opportunities for skillful football players like Nguyen Tien Linh or Hoang Duc to improve and dedicate their talents. Therefore, Vietnamese football is capable of thriving strongly and comparing with other reputative football teams. Furthermore, thanks to the establishment of specialised clubs, plenty of children those who are considered to have sports talents are honed to be ingenious athletes in the future. Without these specialised groups, a great number of athletes like Nguyen Cong Phuong would not have been found.

On the other hand, some justifications are attributed to be the motivations for me to opine that this trend may have some repercussions on society. The first argument is that if specialised amenities are only provided for well-trained athletes, inhabitants cannot get access to sports equipments to practise or to work out. Thus, innumerable individuals would face with the likelihood of contracting serious illnesses such as obesity or cardiovascular diseases since they do not do exercises. Ultimately, the health of community might decline. Moreover, without the specialised facilities supplied, a lot of people cannot realise their innate sports aptitudes. Consequently, there would be a shortage of elit athletes in times to come.

In conclusion, apparently, it cannot be denied that this tendency could bring about benefits for the development of national sports teams; However, I want to affirm that it may be crucial for the supply of specialised amenities for the community to be taken into account.