Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use.

Is it a positive or negative development?

In some nations, developing specialized facilities to train athletes takes precedence while investing in public facilities is ignored. Although this could help achieve international awards, I believe that it is a negative development.

Training professional athletes play a crucial role in sports since they are indeed human source to bring awards in international competition. Some countries tend to provide exclusive facilities in the process of training athletes, this could lead to an increase in training quality and athletes might have the opportunity to improve their inherent talent. For example, building fields and racing tracks that meet international standards. Moreover, providing specialized equipment means the government pays great attention and shows huge expectations of athletes, thus motivating sportsmen and encouraging them to do their best.

Although developing specialized facilities has some benefits, countries still have to focus on improving facilities for all citizens instead of ignoring their demands to play sports. Playing sports is demonstrated to boost mental and physical health, and if governments want to raise public health, they should provide sports equipment that everyone can access. In addition, not many people have enough financial means to attend sports clubs or take expensive sports courses, and facilities support in public destinations could enable them to exercise regularly. Supporting specialized equipment could also create sports communities, hence contributing to developing a healthy society. Moreover, in this way, the government has directly shown that public health is one the top of their awareness, therefore creating a firm belief with their citizen in terms of managing citizens’ health.

In conclusion, training athletes by providing specialized facilities is important to achieve higher success in international sports competitions. However, it is not worth the countries completely ignoring building means of sports. In my opinion, this is not a positive development.