Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes

Whereas there is a debate about whether it is the best measure to improve road safety by increasing the limited age for driving cars or riding motorbikes, I disagree with this point of view.

On the one hand, this policy can bring benefits. Young people usually have poor experiences in controlling vehicles in dangerous situations, therefore leading to accidents and threatening the safety of other people. By increasing the minimum legal age, the government can lessen the number of accidents which detrimentally damage people's lives. Additionally, those from younger age groups often have a great desire to show off themselves, for example, high school students, therefore making driving offenses such as running red lights or not wearing helmets. Whereas young people often lack fundamental knowledge about traffic laws, Adults and older people are more aware of them, hence demonstrating that increasing limited age can be an effective measure.

Although changing the minimum age required is an efficient approach, success in improving road safety depends on a combination of factors rather than a single one. There are a myriad of reasons resulting in accidents, and this can occur at every different age. Having a new limited age for driving, in my opinion, can only reduce a minor proportion of accidents and doesn’t have long-term effects on those who refuse to obey the rules. Moreover, some solutions have also shown their feasibility, for instance, limiting speed in school areas or in the long run educating children about driving safety. It is better to imply a wide range of policies jointly, including proposing suitable minimum age to bolster efficiency.

In conclusion, increasing the minimum legal age for using transportation have positive effects on society, however, should be implemented with other potential methods instead of being utilized as the main solution to address road safety issues.