Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime.To what extent do you agree?

Most developing countries are facing the same issue of the high crime rate. Some people believe that only a stronger military force can solve the problem. In my opinion, even though more police on the streets could be somewhat helpful, other means such as education and social assistance are the real solution to this issue.

Police can help in preventing potential criminal activities. If offenders realize that they are under close supervision and most likely to be caught when planning to commit a crime, they would think it carefully and probably give up criminality. To take Hong Kong as an example, Hong Kong used to be a place with a high rate of crime in the 1960s. To improve the situation, the governor at that time amended the police system and assigned more police force to the streets form 24-hour patrolling. This method dramatically decreased the number of serious offences and eliminated all small crimes. Therefore, intense police patrolling can threaten criminals and prevent some crimes from actually happening. However, the negative sides of devoting more to the police force are the tremendous financial burden to the government and, sometimes, possible abuse of administrative rights.

Education and the social welfare system are the real solutions to the problem of crime. Unsurprisingly, countries and territories with serious crime issues also have an extremely low percentage of the educated population and poorly developed social welfare. Education teaches people how to tell right from wrong and inspires the better part of human beings. A study done by phycologists on prisoners in jails demonstrated that those who received education during their sentences have a significantly lower rate of the second offence comparing to those who did not. Furthermore, well designed and implemented social assistance system is also crucial in lowering the crime rate. Via financial support from the government, residents can access opportunities for education, employment, medical care, and, thus, avoid doing wrong things because of poverty and desperation.

In conclusion, although police officers can be temporarily a workable precaution to diminish offensive behaviours, education and public welfare are the essential means to stop crime.