Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime.

To what extent do you agree?

Crime is one of the most crucial problems of modern manking on the equal basis with pollution, obesity, diseases and so on. Various countries practice different ways to achieve decrease of crime rates. Placing more police employers is one of such measures. In my view, this method of control of criminals is not always effective and definitely is not the only one in the century of up-to-date technology.

To begin with, plenty of policemen on the streets rarely stops criminals on the way to commit a crime. Such people usually prepare well and get ready to any predictable situation, including fights with police. There are some examples which are worth mentioning. Despite great amounts of police workers in developed European countries (Belgium, France, the Netherlands and so on) numerous terroristic crimes in recent years were not prevented.

In addition, the online crimes gain a great popularity nowadays. Professional hackers and programmers have an ability to crack any computer (even computer systems of the Governments). Unfortunately, there is still no ways of preventing such types of crimes were invented but existing ones (including police) are useless in these cases.

In conclusion, it seems to me that putting a greater number of policemen on the streets is not always a key to the problem of growing crime situations. Modern criminals have already been using various techniques of overcoming methods of safety including police, and police officers are senseless for online crimes.