Many high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women.

To what extent do you agree?

Research on sex discrimination has always been a point of interest both for scientists and ordinary people. Job hiring is ususally the thing to check for discrimination, as it is said that most well-paid and prestigious positions are held by males. However, I do not share the opinion that quotas on the number of men and women in a company are to introduce.

To begin with, in my view, a specialist on human resources or a headhunter is to find the most suitable candidate for a position but not a woman or a man. That is, making them hire depending on the sex of applicants limit their opportunities to choose the most effective and productive worker. Consequently, such state of affairs may lead to lose of profits and effectiveness of production since employees are not the ones truly needed.

In addition, inequal skills and inborn traits of females and males are worth mentioning. As numerous scientific researches show, men are usually better in technical works, while women have advantages in humanitarian spheres. In addition, males are usually considered to be great leaders because of truly “man” traits of character: self-confidence, courage and aility to manage. On the other hand, women are optimal workers: they are usually accurate, calm and responsible. That is why it is better for employers to choose suitable applicants(in terms of personality and abilities) but not on the basis on shares of sexes in a particular company.

All in all, it is evident to me that there is no need in allocating strict percentage of males and females in hiring positions. Employers should not rely on the number of male workers in his production, but on how a person suits the particular work. Choice of employees depending on sex might result in profit and effectivenes costs.