In some countries around the world men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Because of the development of biomedical science, there is a growing tendency in some countries that some fresh couples tend to have children late in their life. From my perspective, this phenomenon associate both with women’s growing career ambition and the increasing cost of life.

More and more women have delay their plan of wedding or birthing nowadays, and this is cause by their longer and better education. Women who gain high-level education start to reconsider their role in marriage. To be specific, they attach more attention to their career and trying to be professional in their field, instead of performing the role of mother in a family in traditional custom. Moreover, in some big city, many youngsters complain for the high cost of living and it causes them scaring of having baby since they have less money to bring up child. Actually, not only can feeding a family be a burdensome for young couples, but offering high quality education for their offspring could also be a daunting task.

Obviously, women can fulfill their career ambitions by having late child-bearing. And it also allow young couples to build a solid financial support for their child in the future. However, late child-bearing may give elderly parturient women pregnancy problems, and some even deadly. Also, the baby may have higher risk of having genetic disorder. Furthermore, if more and more women delay birthing, people might have to live in a society with the problem of ageing population. And it ending up with more pressure on feeding the elderly for future generations.

In conclusion, although young couples have better preparation for parents work and financial support, the risk for individuals and society should not be ignored. The analysis seems to indicate that it has more demerits for society and country than its merits.