One of the major problems facing the world today is the growing number of refugees. The developed nations in the world should tackle this problem by taking more refugees.

To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

There is little doubt that the issue of refugees is a global problem. While it most immediately affects developing nations, there is a strong argument that developed countries should help by allowing higher levels of immigration. However this is not easy to solve just by allowing more refugees to immigrate into developed countries, because historically immigration has caused as many problems as it solves.

For many countries today, it is impossible to ignore what has happened on the other side of the world because we now live in a global village and nations are more closely bonded than ever before. Mostly, those refugees are urged to escape from disaster or war which happened in their motherland. And if the developed countries refuse to help, it may cause large number of people die. Sometimes when help such as financial aid or medical teams do not arrive in time, accepting those refugees is the most effective way to reduce deaths.

However, large number of refugees also largely affect local people, and cause lots of problems. The most serious one is that those people who come from undeveloped countries and always live under poverty may increase the crime rate in local. Without government help, they can’t find appropriate job and therefore have no money to raise themselves. Some refugees tend to stolen or crime which make the society unstable. Moreover, some people who do not wish to go back to their countries have finally occupied resources which initially prepare for local residences. And it will cause lower life quality of local people.

Overall, I tend to believe that accepting those refugees cause more problems as it solved. And from my perspective I more agree with the method that developed countries only provide international aid to other countries.