In recent years, the ever-growing refugees have become a global issue, and it is argued that some developed countries are held responsible for accepting these refugees. However, from the point where I stand, I disagree with this view.

It is true that some rich countries like Sweden, America and the British are wealthy and are able to take in more people from other countries. In these new places, refugees can have access to clean water, basic food and health care for free, allowing them to embark on a new life.

However, the increase in refugees’ population never stops. Actually, it is poverty, war, political unrest or sometimes natural disaster that drives people to escape from their hometown. Developed countries cannot solve the refugee crisis only by opening the door to them, and it is also unrealistic for industrialised countries to do so all the time. But the advantaged countries could be helpful by offering development aid to the disadvantaged group. For example, developed countries can construct schools, hospitals and other infrastructure in poor areas, through which children there can study hard to get rid of the poverty circle, all people can get proper treatment when they fall ill, thus improving their living standard.

On the other hand, it will pose a negative impact on their own citizens if developed countries are held responsible for accommodating mass immigrants. We should realize that the government only has a limited amount of funding which mostly comes from taxpayers, so it imposes a financial burden on original dwellers if the government needs to take care of the increased population, which I believe poses a threat to the country’s stability and development. And to those refugees, I am afraid they may end up suffering racism and begging on the streets of the new country because they cannot speak the local language.

In conclusion, solving the root cause of the outbreaks of refugees is a far better way than allowing them freely immigrate to developed countries.