People have different views about whether students should be taught to behave well in addition to academic education from schools. From the point where I stand, I completely agree with this idea.

A school is a place where students spend a lot of time with their teachers and classmates, therefore students’ attitudes and manners could be impacted from the surrounding. In light of this situation, teachers in school should play a role in guiding students to form good manners, including children being taught to share their toys in kindergartens to the point that teenagers learning to express their ideas in a polite way in group discussions, all which are designed to make students properly functioning adults. In addition, students tend to trust in their teachers and thus they are willing to imitate teachers’ behaviour, so teachers themselves should also set role models for students. By conducting this, young people will gradually get to understand bad and good behaviour.

Through education, students would develop a sound moral value system so that they would have the ability to differentiate the right from the wrong. As there are many misbehaviours promoted in the media and in the society, this moral awareness would prevent them from being misled if they are exposed to that information, which results in a lower rate of juvenile delinquency and contributing to a stable society.

On the other hand, some educationalists are in favour of imparting some important virtues and moral values into students, motivating the next generation to make good use of knowledge to contribute positively to their future employers and the whole society. Students who are conscious of social responsibilities are more likely to design safe products which benefit consumers if they work as engineers for manufacturing sector in the future. Students who do not have a moral compass cannot achieve success, even though they perform well at school.

In conclusion, good manners help people become socially acceptable citizens, and without good manners, one can not become successful in their careers.