In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is true that the average weight of people is increasing while their status of health and fitness is decreasing. I believe there is at least one important factor to account for this trend and several measures should be considered as solutions.

The reasons for this trend can be found in their lifestyle mainly. First of all, fast food should be blamed the most since their target audience is mainly children, who would wheedle parents to get what they want. Fast-paced life leaves hectic people with no tie to prepare healthy diets and they often choose junk food which absolutely leads to obesity. Secondly, computer games and televisions are accounted for as a crucial factor. Watching television as couch potatoes, as well as playing computer games for hours and hours, will lead to a sedentary life and soon be detrimental to health. Lastly, I blame the stressful life of a fast-paced modern society which results in uncontrollably putting on weight.

Several measures should be taken to address this negative change. First of all, people should take regular exercise. Without exercise, people will soon be prone to obesity. National and local authorities should ban or reduce the amount of junk food sold in the area, together with people adopt healthy diets which are low in fat and high in fiber to improve health status. Finally, schools as well as workplaces should hold campaigns that provide information about a healthy lifestyle. These will absolutely help decrease putting on weight as well as raising levels of health and fitness for all kinds of people. Medical university in my local city, for instance, held a health campaign for a better lifestyle which was very successful last summer.

In conclusion, while many reasons are pointed out for the increasing trend of average weight, several measures can be taken into account to increase health and fitness status.