Some cities create housing for growing populations by building taller buildings while other cities have opted to build on wider areas of land.

Which solution is better?

In this day and age, cities are expanding upward to respond to urbanization. Some people suppose this method is beneficial while others assume that it is better to expand horizontally. On balance, I tend to believe vertical buildings have greater advantages.

To begin with, building skyscrapers is a measure to make room for other infrastructure of the city. By constructing taller buildings that provide accommodations for residence, other spaces will be taken advantage of for park construction as well as public services or infrastructures. Besides, surplus land can be used to build organic farms that provide healthy food for the city’s population. This land, otherwise, can be used to create playgrounds for children or natural places for families. California, for instance, builds skyscrapers on the half sides and uses the other sides for planting trees.

The second good point of the vertical city is that it is more safety and convenience for people in different ways. With the rapidly increasing trend of population, there would be no place for mankind to settle down. Therefore, apartments help to satisfy housing demand, provide better and greater accommodations for residence. Moreover, it is undeniable that apartments for housing have safeguards so that house owners can feel safe since their houses are protected all the time. This approach is completely suitable for high-density cities such as Hong Kong, Shenzhen, or New York City, where people can find a comfortable house as well as finding a sense of safety.

In conclusion, even though people believe horizontal cities could facilitate people at a certain level. However, vertical cities are more suitable for the escalating pattern of population and urbanization.