In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What are the causes of these pattern and measures to solve them.

Nowadays, in certain nations the level of health and physical activities of the citizens is on a decline, and it is no surprise weight gain is on the rise. This essay will explain the causes as well as discuss possible solutions to this trend.

To begin, the foremost reason for obesity amongst individuals is poor diet. Although the benefits of consuming a healthy diet can not be over emphasized, yet considering our fast-paced life, quick and unhealthy meals have taken precedence in most diet options. For instance, a vast majority of the populace work a 9-5 job with little or no time to get a decent meal during work hours and on reclining from the days job, they are mostly exhausted. Thus making fast food like fries, burgers, etc and pre-packaged meals which are high in cholesterol and sugars the best bet.

Furthermore, another key contributing factor to excessive weight gain is a sedentary lifestyle practiced by many. More and more people are involved in jobs that require them to sit at a desk for most of the day. Also, in other to meet up with work demands, rather than walk to the bus station or use the stairs in offices people opt for driving and the use of elevators to reach their destinations. All of these contribute to reduced/ lack of physical activity which in the long run could lead to weight gain as little or no energy is expended, hence, facilitating consumed calories to be stored as fat.

Despite the aforementioned causes for this pattern, it is not without a solution. One way to curb this growing trend is for the government to educate members of the public on the dangers of obesity and the need to swap unhealthy diet for healthier ones as well as encourage them to engage more in sport activities like walking. This can be achieved via awareness- raising campaigns. Organizations could also make available canteens in work premises where healthy meals are sold.

In conclusion, this essay has discussed the reasons for obesity which is unhealthy diet and inactive lifestyles and has also proffered solutions such as education of the public on healthy eating habits and lifestyle modifications.