Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

Gridlock on our roads has become the order of the day as everywhere is littered with all manner of vehicles with consequential environmental pollution. Increase in price of petrol has been argued to be the best way to abate the growing traffic and environmental problems, which i am not in support.

Increasing the price of petrol will undoubtedly reduce the number of cars on the street, because many people will not able to buy at high price. In spite of this, people will soon adapt and can afford buying at such price which will defeat the initial purpose of increasing fuel pump price, and pollution issues will continue as it were. For example, Nigeria government increased pump price of premium motor spirit last year and, there was reduction in the numbers of vehicle on roads. Before the year ended, many people were able to purchase at the new price which led to congestion of the cities with automobiles.

Though, the pump price increment will control the growing traffic and control pollution of the cities to certain extent, but, there are other measures that can be more effective. Enactment of ten years longevity law on vehicles, which means that, any car older than stipulated duration will be off-road. Furthermore, levying fines and taxes on car owners, prosecution of traffic laws offenders will serve as an example for others, all these, will go a long way. For example, In 2010, United States adopted the laws that no vehicle older than five years should ply the roads, as a result, traffic jam reduced drastically as well as preventing environmental pollution.

In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol will surely reduce traffic congestion as well as pollution to some extent but levying taxes and fines, punishing offenders of traffic laws, and legislating ten years longevity law on vehicles will not only be effective but permanently reduce traffic jams and, also encourage pollution free environment.