Some people believe that the main problem of the environment in our time is loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others believe that there are other more important problems. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Environment is the home for all living things. In recent times, the existence of all habitats is under threat due to some ongoing activities in it. The possible cause of this problem has brought a major debate amongst people. Some believe that the loss of some species of plants and animals could be the major cause, while others opine that there are greater problems threatening the environment than the above listed . This essay will discuss both views and my opinion would be made known.

On the one hand, indiscriminate destruction of some plants and animals can cause a huge disruption in the ecosystem. There is an existing relationship between humans , plants and animals. Plants depend on humans for carbondioxide while humans depend on plants for Oxygen which aids their respiration. Also, some animals are pets to a lot of people and over the years these people have developed emotional attachment to these creatures. Therefore, taking them out of the environment can cause depression to such people . For example, my aunty who was admitted into a mental home recently, was quite well until the demise of her puppy.

On the other hand, there are more serious environmental challenges that threatens the human existence on a daily basis . which I agree with. The rising trend in science and technology is the major problem beclouding the world. Most of the machines and cars that a made , emit some green house gases that causes environmental pollution, degradation as well as depletion of the ozone layer. Consequently, resulting in the rising incidence of various diseases that are seen today and also the rise in congenital abnormalities seen in children. For example a study was carried out in Portharcourt that is the major industrialized city in Nigeria. This was done in 2015 and the result showed congenital malformation out of 10 in 1000 live birth of the population . This was totally different from the data that was gotten 20years earlier that had 1 in 1000 live birth as congenitally malformed.

In conclusion, although opinions may vary, I completely agree that the greatest threat to our environment is pollution.