In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is a common practice in Britain that aged people move to nurse care homes where they are catered for with other old people with the government occasionally footing the care bills. In my view, the government rather than the family should be responsible for the cost of care as will be explored in this essay.

Firstly, the government has to provide a functioning health care system for its citizens including the old people, to ensure maximum input from the health care personnel. This is because the aged are vulnerable in several aspects and family support is not usually enough for an average citizen. For example, the life expectancy in Ila-orangun has increased to 90 years from a background 70 years and this was thanks to the government taking over the care of all the aged population of the ancient town. Besides, many of these age-groups spent a significant number of years to serve the government and the minimum the government can do is to take responsibility for their care when old age comes calling. The government should, therefore, oversee the care of the older generation.

Though the family may partake in the routine care of the elderly as some might suggest, this should not be beyond companionship as a lot of families manage to eke out a livelihood via peasant jobs. These are usually not enough for basic life's necessities, hence, the government's helping hand is always needed. This has become the conventional practice in my country, Nigeria, where the country has taken over the care of all aged population.

In conclusion, the government should be responsible for the bills in care homes because the old people have a peculiar vulnerability, they spent many years serving the government and many families cannot afford the additional expenses of nursing homes on their meagre earnings.