Many students around the world don’t choose science subjects at university. Give the reasons for this and describe the impact on the community?

Globally, it has been observed that undergraduates are not interested in science-related courses. The possible reasons for this and the effects on the society will be dilated in this essay.

To begin with, a lot of people believe the science curriculum is tougher than that of art and social sciences. This is probably because of the fear instilled in them back in high school. In Nigeria for example, a survey carried out showed that 65% of university graduates didn't study science courses because they were deemed not intelligent enough. Besides, not everyone is interested in the field. Some people prefer to study performing arts or music, because they are interested in becoming entertainers in future. Hence, this results in fewer people enrolling in science courses.

However, this affects the economy in various ways. Firstly, It may lead to less medical practitioners available to serve the country. This may result from the reduction in the number of students studying science subjects. For instance, in Zimbabwe, comparing the statistics of surveys carried out in 2002 and 2016, the percentage of pharmacy students in the university dropped to 45% from 60% due to a lower number of enrollees in 2016. Furthermore, it could reduce the workforce of the country. This may result due to the availability of a limited number of qualified workers. In this case, there may be a shortfall in the number of scientists needed to work on inventions or in laboratories

This could result in reduction in the Internally generated revenue of the nation..

In conclusion, students do not apply to study science courses because, it is believed to be more brain- tasking than social sciences courses and some prefer to major in other disciplines. Also, it could lead to the availability of a limited number of health workers in the society and could lead to a reduction in the number of employable graduates in the country.