despite advances in agriculture, many people in the world are still hungry. why is this so? what are the solutions?

Despite improvement in agriculture, a lot of people all over the world still starve. This essay will analyze why this is so and propose a solution.

Unarguably there has been a boost in agriculture in terms of technology and infrastructure, nonetheless, many people are still hungry. A major culprit to this trend is shortage in food supply as demands far exceeds supply; only a fraction of the populace embrace farming. How can the resulting produce feed the ever growing population? In a recent survey done by prof. Marculey N. of Federal university of Technology Mina on involvement of Agricultural practices among house holds in the six geopolitical zones Nigeria, a shocking out come of 21% did one farming method or the other. Little wonder why people still go hungry in recent times.

Another cause of starvation is persistent increase in industrialization as lands are no longer available for cultivation, resulting in to excessive use of existing farmlands. Traditional method of fallowing to improve soil quality is no longer practiced and consequently, there is poor harvest leading to food shortage and hunger.

To curb this menace, the government at all levels must initiate and sustain a 'Live Green' initiative where every household should be encouraged to plant a tree and keep gardens. Financial grants such as loans should be accorded to young graduates to make farming attractive, while enormous lands should be allotted solely for agricultural purposes.

In summary,while inadequate food production resulting from lack of motivation and unavailability of farming spaces are the major cause of hunger, provision of financial support and allocation of land for agricultural purposes will cushion this effect.