Children should be taught foreign languages when they are young. Do the advantages outweigh the advantages?

The stage in the life of a child for him/her to learn foreign dialects has become a source of debate. This has led some school of thoughts to opine that it is better for these languages to be instilled in them at the primary level of their education rather than the secondary level. Though there are drawbacks associated with this view, it is not entirely straightforward as will be explored in this essay.

On the one hand, opponents may discredit this view because it is likely to lead to confusion of youngsters. The introduction of foreign languages in children at that early stage may deprive them from learning their local dialect and culture. For example, a child who is being taught a borrowed tongue will have difficulty learning his/her mother’s tongue. Also, these children are likely to have a bulky schedule depriving them of their play time which could be detrimental to their mental health.

On the other hand, teaching foreign languages to youngster at primary level usually help in averting dangers in cases of migration. The dangers in terms of communication barrier associated with migration can be prevented by imbibing different languages from their local dialect in children. This is backed up by a research carried out by an association of communicators which showed that 95% of missing cases concerning the young ones in foreign country was because of barrier in communication. Furthermore, it increases a child’s level of assimilation in that they can be able to learn different things at the same time.

In conclusion, while it has been put forward though with limited evidence, that the teaching of foreign languages to young ones at primary level is likely to lead to confusion and deprivation of playtime, this appears not to outweigh its potential positives such as prevention of communication barrier in terms of migration and development of assimilation skills in children.