Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or a shortage of money. Others agree that it is better to try and improve such situations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

When faced with negative life events which can include bankruptcy or career dissatisfaction, some individuals think the principal thing to do is accept that circumstance while other people would rather attempt to better their lot. Efforts to change their present state may lead to extreme disappointment for some, leaving those who succeed feeling euphoric. I think every person who can achieve a better sort of life should make every attempt to do so however, this essay will also discuss both views.

Firstly, there are many for whom the will to advance their station is non-existent. Secondly, they may have attempted and failed several times prior. Such people would therefore understandably resist the impulse to do anything to change their current situation. Furthermore, it may also be that they find peace in allowing events to play out around them due to the nature of their faith or their religion. Such people may believe for instance that everything that happens to them is either preordained or the will of God. Interestingly, people with such a mindset are amongst the most satisfied people as reported by a recent study online.

Conversely, other individuals would rather attempt to turn their lives around. They believe that such attempts may eventually succeed and through their faith, that small sliver of hope may be enough to galvanize them into action with favorable results that lead to a generally happier and more fulfilling existence. For example, some people who attempt to modify their behaviors through forming a new habit or breaking a bad one succeeds in doing so, thereby significantly improving their lives.

In my opinion, it is better for everyone to at least put in the effort necessary to change bad circumstances to good ones as this may either result in a better state of affairs or at least a life without regrets. For instance, people from poor backgrounds should at least attempt to get a university education by getting good grades in secondary school and gaining scholarships instead of succumbing to poverty without fighting for a better life. If they get a university degree, such persons may find gainful employment. If they fall short of their goal, they will at least know they tried.

In conclusion, while there are people who would be alright in any condition they find themselves, and other individuals who would rather make every effort to better their chance at a good life, I believe that all human beings must at least make the effort to improve their lives.