Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

It is thought that the best way to tackle traffic jams and pollution in cities is to heighten the price of petrol; however, I am completely disagree because there are better solutions to be considered.

While people are using huge amount of petrol for traveling by their cars. And raising prices may force them to use public transportation, there are social and economic circumstances lies beneath this method. By increasing the price of petrol we would definitely encounter with increasing fee of transporting goods. This vicious circle would rise the price of everything in the market; therefore, people have to pay more for living. In addition, people's dissatisfaction and anger would cause a lot of social disobedience. They would think that the situation is unfair and become frustrated and when it becomes more critical, they would act against the law and protest. subsequently, chaos rises.

Alternatively, this problem can be solved by heightening the quality of public transportation. Clean and tidy buses with a special line in the streets which would enable them faster, gives us a good convincing illustration about this subject. In addition accessibility of stations and public vehicles is a unique feature of this method which is can be extended , as people can easily travel across the city; Therefore, putting more emphasis on raising qualities would encourage people to use public transportation and this can ease the problems of urban life such as traffic and air pollution.

In conclusion, I think raising the price of petrol can make the situation worse and government can handle the problem by offering upgraded public transportation means such as buses and metro which has enough capacity and capability to be developed and be updated