In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way.

Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It has been argued that these days companies insist on presenting that their companies’ outputs are new in some way. In this essay I will outline the reason for this concept and elaborate why I strongly believe it is a negative progression.

The most important reason for this strategy is that by this idea the companies attract more people’s attention to the new products. They target this notion that people almost always want to buy new eye-catching products, so they introduce a new one with a negligible change while this intangible change has been bold in its commercial. These businesses have repeatedly done this method to attract more individuals to their new products and it is completely effective.

Companies deliberately never introduce a perfect product because they want to have a potential to change and improve their outputs. For example, a company just produces a compact laptop with an ineffective battery in order to oblige customers to buy the next model with better battery capacity in the following years. Furthermore, some mobile phone producers just introduce their new products without any practical change. For instance, Apple’s company has been representing the same mobile phones without any hardware change for 4 years while the only difference among them is the colour. In addition, this strategy leads to increasing the fake need. These dysfunctional changes which are dominantly demonstrated in the advertisements can cause consumerism. For example, a state of the art washing machine with a WIFI connection is not a functional development but it can attract people who are already having a good washing machine, to buy and try this unnecessary option.

In conclusion, the reason for emphasizing that the recent outputs of companies are new, is attracting more people to these recent products and absolutely it is not a positive development because these new ones have unnecessary changes which increase fake need.