In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, health problems have become more common among people in many areas, which leads to the rise of their average weight as well as the decline of their fitness. In my opinion, there are plenty of reasons for this situation, which I will discuss in this essay and then suggest some solutions.

First of all, it seems clear that the development of technology is one of the most important causes. Since its appearance, many jobs and industries have been changed into a new form which requires fewer manual labours but more white-collar workers. Another reason is the introduction of fastfood in the last few decades, which has adjusted the eating habits of most people. Although no one can deny its convenience and dominance, fastfood is a potential source of harm to the health as it contains a great amount of fat and sugar as well as other toxic substances. Moreover, many new kinds of entertainment such as games, bars and so on mean people now usually do not experience a healthy lifestyle but spend time on numerous leisure activities.

These issues have been so serious that in some countries, the government has suggested many measures to solve them. One of these is to improve citizens' awareness of a healthy lifestyle and decrease the use of fastfood and alcohol. In addition, people can be encouraged to take regular exercises to keep fit and healthy by provision of access to suitable facilities and equipments. It is also considerable to search for another kind of food which is both convenient and health-protected.

All things considered, I firmly believed that the development of technology, fastfood industry and entertainment is the basic reason for the increase of average weight. These problems cannot be solved without the effort of all the countries involved to decrease the consumption of mentioned products as well as improve the health state by exercises.