Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses, nevertheless they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public concern has arisen about whether we are ignoring terrible effects that psychological illnesses have on patients or not. From my perspective, I totally agree that social prejudice on these illnesses is still severe and most people do not consider them as a health problem.

The causes of this situation are manifold. The fundamental factor that we need to take into consideration is that unlike physical disabilities, symptoms of mental disorders are invisible and varied from one to another. Take depression as an example. Whereas some patients suffering from this illness become sensitive and vulnerable, others may seem no different from a healthy person. As a result, their problems are unpredictable and cannot be diagnosed by any medical equipments.

In the second place, compared to physical diseases with thousands of years of researching, mental illnesses are considered problems of modern society and consequences of an excessively comfortable life. Although this belief is completely wrong, it is quite common among people who are lack of knowledge on medical area. Therefore, mental patients are often neglected by most of the social members owing to the underrated evaluations of their illnesses.

On top of that, there are now no precise cure for these problems and most of the treatments by psychological experts depend on personal experience and general theories which are not suitable for all circumstances. For instance, although two patients suffer from the same illness, their symptoms and methods of treatment are not similar. As a consequence, in most cases, the treatment process seems unreliable and depends on luck.

All things considered, psychological illnesses are not widely recognised as dead diseases and encounter objects from people on treatment process. Accordingly, it is generally advisable to improve the awareness of publicity on these mental disorders.