In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is said that there is an increase in the average weight of people while their physical status is going down. In this essay, I am going to discuss the causes as well as suggest some solutions to tackle this problem.

To begin with, a rise in fast food consumption is taken into consideration. In the contemporary world, people are now given more assignments to handle, which gives rise to a lack of time for cooking. Therefore, junk food which contains a huge amount of fat leading to obesity comes under a perfect option for human beings. Furthermore, people are having less time working out. In fact, as can be seen, members of society have more things such as work or family to take into account, which take them approximately a day. Consequently, they end up having no time for doing exercises.

As this is such a desperate issue, some measures should be suggested. Firstly, the government ought to increase fast food prices to keep people’s health at bay. For example, most junk food in Singapore have been taxed 3 times higher to avoid people consume this kind of food. Besides, a reduction in working hours seems to benefit most workers. Employers can both work out and cook for themselves provided that they do not have to work much in a day.

In conclusion, people consume more junk food, yet having less time to work out are the two remarkable causes to the problem. In order to tackle such issues, the government had better increase fast food prices as well as reduce office hours.