In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

People gain more weight by eating plenty of snacks and drinking soft drinks without enough exercise. The lifestyles result in their declining health levels. There are several causes which can lead to these severe healthy problems and it is high time that people took measures to address them.

Firstly, food containing much fat is usually popular among children. The young, especially primary school students extremely enjoy junk food like French fries which are crispy and smell good. Recently it has been surveyed that the total amount of calories in a box of French fries equal five bowls of rice. Secondly, people become increasingly lazy and they would rather stay at home watching TV than jog in the park. The energy they take in from food cannot be consumed and instead it is stored as fat. What's more, many workers hardly have time to exercise in the gym because they are required to work from eight in the morning to eight in the evening. Usually when they come home, they might do nothing but take a rest in bed.

In order to cope with these problems, I have two suggestions. To begin with, parents should ask their children to have more vegetables which comprise vitamin and eat less fried food. A balanced diet enables kids to keep fit and boost their immune systems. In addition, the managers can organize activities for the staff, such as climbing the mountains on weekends. Not only can they lose weight after sweating a lot, the cooperation can also be enhanced in the team.

All in all, for everyone, keeping healthy really matters a lot. The healthy food and exercising often contribute to everyone's health. With the measures mentioned above, I believe any one can make progress in keeping fit.