In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

You may hardly find a skinny shape on street nowadays, but more and more fat and slow-moving bodies instead. Overweight problem is becoming serious and it attracts much attention from society as this problem negatively affects people’s health and fitness. I think the following reasons cause this problem and people should take some measures to alleviate the phenomenon.

To start with, the direct factor causes overweight problem is unhealthy food. Because of high-pace lifestyle, people devote more time in work instead of cooking themselves. The advantage of fast-food is saving time for working people, also fast-food heighten people’s appetite by using more ingredients and sources, which contain high calories. People who take fast-food as daily meal enjoy the benefit of convenience while ignoring the weight of fast- food putting on them day by day. Second reason of gaining weight is lack of excise. Modern society demands more brain work, it means people are required to do less manual work. Many works are processed on computer and it leads to people sitting in front of their computer whole day. Even when finish work and back at home, most people prefer to be couch-potatoes to watch sitcoms because much brain work exhausts them. Finally, the development of technology further decreases the chance of excising. Cars, elevators and cleaning robot are serving people so well that people don’t have much to do.

To solve above problems, government could make a half working day as excise day each week, also could increase tax rate for fast-food industry, so people would pay more if they choose to eat fast-food. After all, the sense of living healthy should be promulgated, and every single person should work on it to improve the level of average health and fitness.