In some countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think
that the government should be responsible for solving this problem.
To what extent do
you agree or disagree?
It is true that children in some parts of the world are becoming obese and unhealthy. I agree with the role
of the government in resolving this vexing issue. However, I also believe that the role of parenting and
school settings should also be emphasized.
Childhood obesity and children’s health problems should be partly blamed to the authority. We cannot
deny the fact that overweight children are of high chance to be vulnerable to numerous serious
diseases such as diabetes and hypertension, which poses a dire threat to the national growth of any
country as they are the future’s human resources. As a result, the authority should be accountable for
mitigating this problem. Take China as a good example, the governing body has been taking
action to lower obesity rate among children by organizing boot camps where children
arephysically trained to lose weight and take up daily healthy habit. This is because China’s
political activists are scared of the scenario that these overweight children will not be able to meet the
physical demand to join the army.
Besides the governmental role, parents and schools are also liable for their children’s good health.
Regarding the former, working parents nowadays tend to devote virtually their whole time to
working in order to ensure material well-being, which means that they may spend less time carefully
taking care of their children’s diet. Therefore, without supervision, children might eat unhealthy food
or lead a sedentary lifestyle. This explains why close parental care and control is crucial in ensuring
children’s balanced diet and healthy life. In terms of the role of education in teaching children
about health living, some schools inclined to place emphasis on theoretical subjects as math and
literature, and neglect the importance of physical education, which reduces their students’ workout
frequency. School efforts to promote healthy diet and engage students in physical exercises are
irreplaceable in tackling the problem of child obesity.
In conclusion, the government, parents and schools should all shoulder the responsibility
for protecting their children from obesity and unhealthy lifestyles.