Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

In today’s world, the English language has already turned out to be a universal and international language to compare with local languages than previous times. It is said that if local languages are not given serious attention, they will probably be on the verge of dying out. I think people should be encouraged to learn the English language and special education programs should be settled in primary schools to prevent local languages from getting out of use.

English language, nowadays, is spoken in almost all parts of the world ranging from on everyday life to formal occasions, making it more popular than ever before. Some new opportunities are being created for a student who is in favor of learning the English language. A student who has a good command of English, from overseas now, may study in more prestigious universities along with getting high-paid jobs. This situation will probably interest other people to start learning the English language with making it more necessary.

However, some nations are concerned about their native languages that they may get disappeared from their daily use of life sometime in the future due to a huge emphasis on the English language now. The main reason why this is the case is perhaps the lack of courses in local languages. Primary schools in every country can help local languages to continue to exist in everyday life coupled with implementing privileges for them. If a child starts learning his native language at an early age with getting serious attention from teachers, he does not tend to forget what he learned. Privileges like, high paid jobs and prestigious studies can also be one of the key aspects of preserving local languages.

In conclusion, I think that there should be no barrier to learn the English language since it cannot be the cause of dying out of other languages but educational programs and privileges.