With all the problems in the world today, spending money on space exploration is a complete waste. The money could be better spent on other causes.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

Since the 1950s some governments have been allocating part of their budget to space exploration, and some people consider this to be a complete waste when we still have fundamental problems on Earth. I totally disagree with this view for two reasons.

Firstly, space exploration can help us combat climate change in a more effective way. Today, half the Americans still believe that global warming is a hoax, which is why the current government is not willing to take any action, refusing to acknowledge that climate change is caused by human activity. NASA has a department devoted to Earth science which specializes in collecting data about how our planet is changing. One goal behind this project is to raise public awareness about the causes of global warming by providing people with accurate data. Only then can the educated public unite to urge the government to take urgent measures to reduce greenhouse gas emissions on a national scale.

Another area where space exploration can help with is the Internet. Today, it is obtained primarily through ground-based applications. However, these underground cables are not so efficient in reaching the remotest locations in the world as a result of which, more than half the world’s population still lives in digital darkness. To find a solution to this problem, the company called ‘One-Web’ wants to use space technology to provide everyone with internet access. In other words, in the future, the internet could be accessed via satellites at a much cheaper cost, if not for free.

To sum up, while it is true there are fundamental problems we need to address on our own planet, the technology created for space exploration can be applied to effectively solve the problems of climate change and the lack of internet access in poor countries. Therefore, I strongly believe we need to keep space exploration programs up and running.