With all the problems in the world today, spending money on space exploration is a complete waste. The money could be better spent on other causes.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

The governments of some developed countries have recently started to allocate a proportion of their budget to the exploration of outer space. While some might see this trend as a total waste of money, I disagree with this statement for two reasons.

People opposed to space exploration argue that there are some more important issues that we should focus on. With all current problems on our planet, such as climate change and extreme poverty, there is no sense in investing a huge amount of money in launching rockets to space. On average, it takes around millions of dollars to send a single robotic machine to space and about billions of dollars to land astronauts to the orbit. This sum of money, according to their opinion, can be diverted to dealing with the harmful effect that human activity has on the environment by financing renewable energy sources.

Nevertheless, it is my view that space exploration can be an effective way of addressing climate change. By launching spacecraft to the orbit, scientists have advanced their understanding of Earth’s ecosystem and its atmosphere that helped us find different life forms that can support human existence in the future. This raised our awareness of the damage that people produce to earth and encouraged us to take steps to protect it. Another possible benefit of exploring the space is technology innovation. The deployment of satellites by different countries have seriously improved communication between people by providing access to the Internet even to the remotest parts of the world.

In conclusion, although there are some urgent problems that we need to tackle on our planet, the advantages brought by space exploration can be used to solve the problem of climate change and internet connection.