With all the problems in the world today, spending money on space exploration is a complete waste. The money could be better spent on other causes.

To what extent do you agree with this view?

It is often argued that governments could better spend money on solving the problems in the world today instead of spending it on space exploration. Although I agree that that development of a country is the best way to use the money but I think space explorations are also important as they give human further knowledge.

On the one hand, the governments should definitely spend on solving the problems of their nations. There are several global issues that need immediate resolution. For example, millions of people still do not have access to potable water. Developing countries such as India, Pakistan etcetera have serious problems in health, education and employment sectors. It is very important to fulfill the basic needs before launching big space missions.

On the other hand, space research helps us to learn more about the universe we are a part of. For instance, the exploration of the moon improved our understanding of space and environment that can support human life. There is a possibility that space missions may find life on other planets. We may also be able to find planets similar to earth that can sustain human life. Since the population growth is depleting earth's natural resources day by day, finding another planet that is inhabitable would will leave huge benefits on people's lives in future.

To conclude, though I agree that the governments should spend more to eradicate problems in their countries, I think space exploration should also be financed as it is in the larger interest of the whole humanity.