In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that the governments should restrict salaries above a certain level as it is not good for the country. In my opinion however, people with challenging jobs should get high salaries even if they are less in number.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why some believe that a small number of people earning very high income is not good for the country. First reason is that the wage gap will increase. If a small number of people hold a large amount of wealth, the poor will not have a chance to rise up the economic ladder. Due to this, only a few people will have monopoly in the market. Another reason whould be increasing friction between rich and poor. People with low salaries will become jealous of a few extremely high payed ones and which may lead to violence and hate crimes in future.

On the other hand, I would argue that it is not right of government to restrict salaries of a few people whose earnings are very high. First reason is that it will demoralize the hardworking employees. Some people may have worked hard throughout their life to reach that high salary and restricting it will reduce the sense of self improvement. Employees will have no incentive to perform better after a certain point of their career. Second reason is that limiting salaries in a certain profession may lead to loss of importance of job. Young talent might not be interested in a certain job as it may come with a lot of responsibilities whereas on the other hand, there might be similar paying jobs with a lot less responsibilities.

To conclude, although some people think that paying a very high salary to a few people might lead to higher wage gap and a increased rift between rich and poor, I personally believe that their salaries should not be restricted as it will demotivate hardworkers and people might lose interest in the job.