Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals Others say that there are more important environmental problems Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It would be argued by some people that the major environmental issue of current era is loss of some species of plants and animals. In my opinion, however, there are more concerning environmental issues than the extinction of certain species.

Many species of plants and animals are going extinct due to the destruction of natural habitats by mankind. A lot of forests are cleared every year to expand cities and build big factories. When clearing land, the animals from such areas become homeless and either put in zoos or left to wander. It is very hard for them to live without natural habitat and they eventually die. Many species of plants and animals are becoming extinct dues the loss of favourable conditions due to pollution and climate change. For example, animals which live in cold areas like polar bear and penguins are reducing in numbers because of melting of ice due to rising temperature.

However, it is clear that there are major problems like climate change and overpopulation that deserve our attention. The rising sea levels due to melting of ice caps are causing coastal areas and islands to sink. Due to air pollution, there is a big hole in ozone layer and UV rays enter the atmosphere. The result is greenhouse effect which increases the temperature of earth. Population is increasing at a rapid pace and the nature is being over-exploited. Most of the rivers are polluted and we are running out of natural resources.

In conclusion, although some people think that loss of certain species of plants is more concerning as compared to some other environmental issues, I personally do not agree and believe that there are more pressing concerns as well such as overpopulation and climate change.