Internet is generally considered as a blessing for mankind. Do the advantages of it outweigh its disadvantages?

The internet has become a significant part of our lives today and has made our lives so much comfortable that it is really hard to live without it. Internet is generally considered as boon to the mankind. Despite some obvious disadvantages of the internet, I believe that these are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, there are a number of major drawback when people spend too much time sitting in front of the computer surfing the internet. People tend to lose their productive time and have a negative impact on health which include short-sightedness, obesity and posture related disorders. Another disadvantage of the internet is information theft and hacking. Data and information are major benefits of the internet but some people use illegal ways to mine personal that and use it in illegal ways. Internet hackers are growing day by day and a number of people lose money in such scams.

On the other hand, I believe that the benefits are more significant than such disadvantage. Firstly, Internet is a perfect tool for gathering information. Internet is very helpful for students as they are now able to search for information of the internet without need for going to a physical library. Secondly, communication has been made easier by the internet. We can connect with our friends in any part of the world using platforms such Facebook and Whatsapp or hold business meeting using platforms like Skype and Zoom. Finally, shopping and business has been made easier through the internet. People can order food and buy the latest fashion trends sitting at home through online websites. Banking and paying bills can be done online and they are efficient and time saving

In conclusion, I would argue that the advent of internet brings more benefits than drawbacks.