Rules are vital to control behaviour but freedom is also important. It is often said that children in few countries have to follow strict rules whereas in other countries they are free to do almost anything they want to. I think children have to follow rules to certain extent but rules should not be very strict.

Rules of behaviour must not be strict because absolute bondage may create situations for children to follow wrong path.

Moreover, children will not feel free to speak and do what they want to do. However, some might break rules and may create abundant problems for society and family. Especially, adolescents and young adults may lie to parents and teachers. If rules are way too strict then wanted children feel they are being controlled. Some might even try to run away. For instance, child may seem obedient, disciplined in front of parents and teachers but child will behave mischievous in front of friends and strangers. Smoking, taking drugs and other various anti social behaviours can be observed.

Further, if children are given freedom to do what they want to, it helps in self development of children. When children are given to do almost everything, they explore themselves and world. They take part in various curricular and extra curricular activities in which they can excel and develop it as their career. Also, they feel free to talk and share their feelings, we can always know whats going on his/her mind. We should punish them for their mistakes but in such a way which will make them realise their mistakes. For example, if a 6 years old pre scholar who wants to dance is allowed to go for dancing classes and take part in dance competitions, she will feel happy. She will not only be happy but she will also try to excel to make her parents and teachers proud.

In conclusion, rules are important but should be limited. It should never hinder a child's development. Neither allowing to do everything is good nor keeping them under strict boundaries is.