In some countries children under 16 are not allowed to leave schools by law and to get full time work. Is this a positive or negative development?

Children under the age of 16 are forbidden to leave school judiciary and are restricted to do full-time jobs in many parts of the world. In my opinion, this is a positive efforts made by the authorities, as it enables young people to get secondary education and lower the rate of child exploitation.

To start, education at least at secondary level is the fundamental right of every child. By enforcing such laws governments improve literacy rate which is vital for overall development of a society. In other words, basic education helps children in different aspects of life. Subjects like history, for instance teaches country's old culture, heritage, international relation which are wealth of a nation. Likewise, mathematics helps in developing reasoning and mental ability also science gives them better understanding about nature, technology, latest inventions globally. No wonder, combination of all this subjects transform children into responsible citizen in the future.

Another point to consider is, in many third world nations for instance, India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Nepal and many other African countries child labour is the eviled exist in the society. This is because children below 16 are vulnerable as they are immature to understand what is right and wrong. Needless to say, lack of education makes the situation even worse, therefore, by making education mandatory till the age of 16, government trying to drastically diminish the problem of child labour and putting immense efforts in the development of cultural community.

To conclude, i strongly assert that compulsory education up to the age of 16 is a welcoming step to curb social evils.