In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel

less safe than ever before.

What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to

solve it?

Despite the fact that serious crime rates in some countries are decreasing, people become more concerned about their safety than ever before. The main cause for it is because the governments do not have strict laws for petty crimes which happen every day. Therefore, the most viable solution is to pass severe laws to deter small offences.

The worries of people about their safety stem from the lack of legal consequences for petty criminals. If a person commits a serious crime, the government will be able to apply one of the punishment methods such as capital punishment, life sentence or prison term, which can easily prevent citizens from doing serious things. However, when the law is lenient with petty criminals, the offenders are not afraid of conducting their repeated misbehavior. For example, although guns are prohibited and serious crimes are mostly prevented in Vietnam, the number of petty crimes such as theft or assaults have increased by 20% from 2018 to 2019 due to tolerant laws, bringing more anxiety to many people.

To tackle this problem, the government should pass strict laws for petty crimes that will act as a deterrent. If people are aware of the serious consequences of their actions, they will be less likely to disobey the laws. This could shed light on the situation and make people feel relieved as they are being protected. In Canada, after the government imposed a heavy fine for the public assaults, the number of people who commit this crime has decreased by 70%.

In conclusion, due to the tolerance of the law towards petty crimes, people have been worried a lot about their daily safety; however, it can be addressed through stricter laws passed by the government in the future.