In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think it is good for the country while others believe that the government should control the salaries and limit the amount that people can earn.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Salary is a form of payment from the employer to an employee for his services. In many countries, more qualified and experienced individuals draw better salaries than their lesser trained colleagues. The society is divided on this issue that whether this system is beneficial or harmful for workplace and country in large. Both the views shall be analyzed to create an opinion in this essay.

One of the positive aspects of this practice is that higher salaries give due appreciation and credit to those employees who have worked hard and have gone through many hardships during training through the years. This, inturn, helps in avoiding brain drain in a country. An example of such brain drain is Pakistan where, poor pay grade and no incentives have led to emigration of almost 30% of Pakistani doctors in the last decade. Another effect stated by supporters of these kind of huge amounts of salary, is that it encourages competitiveness among employees. People get motivated and try to gain higher educational degrees and experience to achieve the level of their colleagues with better salaries. This can be corroborated by the fact that more and more people are joining distant learning courses along with their jobs to gain a higher paying job. Therefore, this demonstrates that both the companies and governments can benefit from this policy.

On the other hand, giving extremely high salaries to few employees has deep impact on the economy of the country. This trend leads to concentration of wealth among the few which ultimately widens the gap between different social and economical classes of society. Examples of such gaps can be seen among third world developing countries like South Africa and India.Another problem that arises from such type of discriminatory wages is introdution of sense of inferiority among other employees who get much lesser salaries leading to mental stress and decreased workplace productivity. Recent studies show that workplace related anxiety and stress is much more prevalent in companies that follow this suit. All this illustrates why most people are of the view that governments should take control of salaries.

To conclude, both High salaries to some employees can have both good and harmful effects. But in my opinion, the problems discussed above have their roots in other causes as well. Higher wages have much more advantages than it creates problems.