In some countries governments pay the money for students' university fees,while in other countries, students pay for themselves. Do advantages of governments paying for the students outweigh its disadvantages?

There is much controversy over whether students’ university fees should be paid by government or students themselves. Although there are some drawbacks of governments paying for the students, I would argue that there are far more benefits.

There are two drawbacks of government paying for higher education. First of all, budget allocated to education is quite limited. If governments afford tuition fees for all citizens, many universities will be unfunded. Without ample and sufficient funding, universities can hardly update experimental equipments and recruit excellent professors to deliver knowledge. As a result, this situation may lead to the decline of educational quality. Additionally, compared with affording the cost by themselves, students who are free from the duty may not cherish the study opportunities, which lead to the waste of educational resources.

In spite of two drawbacks mentioned above, I believe that that governments pay for undergraduate and postgraduate education is a good measure. Firstly, governments have the obligation to plan for the long-term development. To invest in education is crucial for a better future of the nation. The prosperity of a country requires the contribution of numerous talented and competent citizens, which cannot be realized without high quality tertiary education. Secondly, to receive education is their basic right that should not be deprived of for economic reasons. As gap between rich and poor is widening in many countries, many diligent young people would be denied admission to universities due to their poor family conditions. This will cause serious inequality.

In conclusion, it seems to me that it will be better, on balance, for governments to cover the total expense of university education.