Some countries have introduced laws to limit the working hours that an employer can ask from an employee. Why are these laws introduced?

Is this a positive or negative trend?

Many countries tend to limit the working hours of employees with considering their needs and interests. The reason for this tendency is related to a number of factors and in my opinion, it is a positive change.

There are two essential factors why countries are willing to pass such laws. Providing balanced life is one of the main factors of this development. These countries consider that limiting the working hours helps employees to maintain the balance between their personal and professional life, as they can arrange their work hours according to their daily schedule.

Moreover, another factor is the need to enhance the productivity of workers. When workers have anxiety about time limits in their life, they feel bored and most probably, it affects to the quality of their work. Knowing that they have enough time for other things, they feel more relaxed and motivated.

In my opinion, passing this kind of law is a positive development for countries. Considering the possibilities presented by the digital age, it is a natural and essential change. People can perform their many tasks remotely and it is not crucial that they have to stay at their workplace for long hours. According to some researchers, doing the same things every day for long hours can also lead the physical and mental health issues as well.

To sum up, many countries are willing to reduce the work hours to meet the needs of employees. This positive change provides a balanced lifestyle and helps to increase the quality of work. This tendency not only impacts the workers’ lifestyle but also their health in a positive way.