In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Over the last few years, more and more people have eaten fast food instead of their meals. This is the cause of the decline in their health of them. High cholesterol and heart problem are all on the rise due to fatty and sugar-rich food. However, the question is whether the higher tax would improve this situation or not.

On the one hand, the higher tax might seem sensible. This leads to an increase in the prices of fast food. People have to spend more money to get their food, so they may consider buying it. Furthermore, the higher tax could help fund the other facilities. The government could use the fund for the improvement of the healthcare system.

On the other hand, we need to look for the negative influence of high taxes on the fast food industry. If the organization wants to keep the prices of its products, it must reduce the prices to buy its supplies. That will impact the farmers, who provide products for the fast food industry, such as corn, egg, and beef. Additionally, the group of people, who eat more of this food, is lower-income people. One possible reason for this is that fast food is far cheaper than healthy produce. For them, fast food is not a choice but a necessity.

In conclusion, I agree that imposing a higher tax on fast food might help to solve the problem, but I think that the government needs more action to help the people who are involved with the fast food industry.