Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’

How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the industrial age and now the information age, the improvement of automobile production had caused the prices to reduce, so more people were capable to own a car. As a result of this, many cities now are ‘one big traffic jam’. The question is what governments can do to encourage people to reduce the use of personal cars.

Many cities in the world have traffic problems but these problems vary. Statistics indicate that traffic jams usually take place when people get to work and when they return from work. For example, it is easy to drive around my city after 10 am and before 8 pm. However, outside of these hours, especially at 7 am or 6 pm, you have to allow double the usual time to reach your destination. In some other cities, traffic is congested at all times.

One of the best approaches that governments can take in busy cities is to improve the public transport services to encourage the use of this transport. Buses, trams, and trains are good ways of getting around, and if they are cheap and reliable, people will use them. Besides, the administration should emphasize building adequate parking lots, new roads, and flyovers to reduce the traffic jam while also campaigning to encourage citizens to walk and ride bicycles whenever possible.

In conclusion, we all have a responsibility to look after our cities. Government can do a lot to improve the situation and part of what they do should involve encouraging individuals to consider alternatives to driving.