One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the development of medicine can help people have longer life. However, this does not mean that you will have a happy life in old age. It is only desirable if you can look after yourself and be independent, otherwise, there can be disadvantages for your family.

One of the most common medical problems in the elderly is dementia. This influence not only their mental health but also their children. Even if the old people are still fit, they may not be able to look after themselves. They may have to live with their children or be cared for in the home. Although medical treatment is keeping the elderly alive, it comes with expensive costs, which can make elderly people become a burden.

On the other side, not all old people become ill. Those, who care for their health based on the development in medicine from when they were young until they get old, can enjoy their happy life. They have time to do a range of activities that they could not do when they were at work. Some elderly people save money to help their children’s life easier. They can look after their grandchildren, which is a great benefit for working parents.

In conclusion, I am convinced that we should aim to improve medical care to keep people healthy as long as possible so that they can enjoy their old age. A longer life is obviously advantageous but no one can live longer if they are disadvantages for their family and society.