Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras).In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening.

Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The development of technology brings convenience to people’s life. However, the increase in the use of technology to monitor others for any purpose has cast doubt on its benefits of it. The question is in what case the use of technology to track people is legal.

Nowadays, in many major cities, security cameras are recording the movements of ordinary citizens. The use of security cameras can help the policies easy to find criminals, and in some cases then a camera may provide useful evidence. Additionally, whenever a cellphone is used, the call is logged, so the service provider knows exactly when and where the user made the call. This can help the rescue teams locate the person in an accident if they have a cell phone with them.

On the other hand, personal information is very important in the informational age. By taking advantage of the vulnerability in the security of some monitor technologies, the thieves can get the user information and use it for illegal purposes. For example, the thieves can use the information about the bank account to steal money or use someone else’s identity to scam others. Furthermore, in countries where human rights are ignored, the use of security cameras or listening devices may be harmful to society.

In conclusion, it seems inevitable that there will be more and more ways to monitor society in the future. It is obvious that the advantages of this are more than the disadvantages. However, our responsibility is to evaluate new technology and decide whether it will do more harm than good.