In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are an increasing number of people who are physically ill due to massive fast food intakes in some countries. As a result of such an issue, imposing of tax on such junk food seems to be the only option. Even though the taxation can be effective at a short term, in my opinion, this would not be effective for the long run because people’s eating habit would not be changed and the craving for junk food would not stop immediately.

Eating too much junk food will increase various health issues related to unhealthy foods. Majority of junk food have been reported and announced for its malnutrition value and richness in fat, carbohydrates and sugar. All those substances including chemical materials would cause fatal diseases including diabetes, heart diseases, insulin resistant and cancers. Therefore, high consumption of unhealthy foods can have severe damages.

Imposing of taxation on junk food can reduce the number of intake. Usually people take junk food for cheaper price, so by increasing the price by taxation can restrict the consumption. When the government imposes of taxation on junk food, the overall price of junk food will increase. In other words, the price of junk food after the tax will be similar to other restaurant’s meals (healthy meals). This will increase people’s eating habit of seeking of healthy food instead. Hence, the taxation can change the people’s habit and this will reduce the unhealthy food consumption rates.

In my opinion, the taxation on junk food is unrealistic, because there are many reasons for people to eat junk food and price is just one of those reasons. The higher price in junk food may reduce the people’s consumption but it is limited to a short term. Eventually people will crave for junk food because they have been addicted to stimulus tastes. In compared to other restaurant’s meals, junk foods are available 24/7 and it is fast so it is preferable choice for a number of people.

In conclusion, even though fast food has the advantage of convenient and cheap prices, the individual’s health can have a fatal consequence. The governmental proposal of imposing tax is unrealistic and unreasonable to achieve since the cheap price is only one of many other reasons for people to intake junk foods. Therefore, I agree with the restriction on junk foods but not completely agree with the taxation methods are the only way to prevent such consumption.