In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Globally, the rate at which citizens suffer from diet-related ailments appears unprecedented. It is argued that the state must impose higher levies on fast foods. I completely agree with this assertion, as this will reduce diet-induced diseases and then raise money for the nation.

Poor dieting, like any social challenge, requires an evident-based intervention from policy makers. As such, imposing higher taxes on junk foods seems right. Demand for items such as food his highly sensitive to price; hence, many will be discouraged from purchasing these foods, which have devastating effects on their wellness. For instance, in Ecuador, the heavy tax on sugar-based foods has drastically reduced the rate of diabetes in the state. Given the high cost of these foods, citizens will be indirectly compelled to eat healthy food products. Consequently, the health status of residents will be improved - a major social merit.

In furtherance, the revenue raised from such exercise will allow the government to undertake some positive measures. Firstly, given the extra revenue from the high taxes on processed foods, the government can invest in public education on the need for healthy eating, as well as the adverse consequences of fast foods. This can be achieved through a collaborative effort with stakeholders, such as doctors and nurses. Public health education has been exemplified in the U.K, which has a positive impact on the residents. Secondary, another real avenue is the investment in diversified organic food products. Eventually, the focus of the citizens will shift from poor diet to organic foods, which seem healthier.

In conclusion, the rising trend of eating-relating diseases cannot be denied. It is needful for state managers to impose higher tariffs on packaged foods. This measure will not only prevent ailments, but also provide financial capital for investments.