In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Junk foods have been increasingly popular as well as a threat for youngsters. Having too much of fast food has resulted in many health problems hence necessary measures to cut consumption of junk food has to be made. This essay will argue why Junk food is not good for health and necessary steps that can be taken to lower consumption of junk foods.

Fast foods have immensely grown in many areas and are unhygienic for those who consume it on a regular basis. A vast number of chemicals are involved while preparing these foods and increases the chances of deadly diseases. They are prepared in the high flame which also results in overcooking. Overconsumption of fast foods can cause many health problems like diabetes, hypertension etc. A recent survey states that around 70 percent of teenagers are obese and are prone to diabetes due to unhealthy eating habits. Hence, the chances of life-threatening diseases are more due to the consumption of fast food.

On the other hand, the government should create awareness and make necessary measures to lessen the practice of eating unhealthy foods. Imposing taxes on restaurants and shops that serve fast food can bring down the chances of consuming junk food. For example, the implementation of GST on junk foods has shown a decline in the number of people who take fast food in India. Avoiding fast foods can also help the environment in reducing the number of plastics used in packing that result in polluting the environment. Therefore, governments should take the necessary steps to make sure control over unhealthy food which would help the environment.

This essay argued why the government should get involved in public health concerns and avoiding fast food would help for healthy living. In my opinion, consumption of fast food is not a good practice and a healthy lifestyle can be maintained by reducing its consumption.